Ernst & Young announces the 2007 Entrepreneur Of The Year finalists

This year 84 of the nation’s best and brightest entrepreneurs will compete for the coveted title of Entrepreneur Of The Year 2007, one of Australia’s leading business awards.

In announcing the 2007 regional finalists, Ernst & Young Chief Executive, James Millar said:

“Through the Entrepreneur Of The Year (EOY) program, we acknowledge the great wealth of entrepreneurial talent shaping Australia’s future. The stories told by the men and women coming through EOY are inspirational and their places as finalists in the first round of these Awards are truly deserved. We congratulate them on their success so far.

“The entrepreneurs of today will be the leaders of tomorrow,” he said.

In total the 84 finalists have an annual turnover of almost $4.5 billion, employing over 10,000 people.

Since Ernst & Young’s global program started in Australia in 2001, over 500 leading Australian entrepreneurs have been recognised for their entrepreneurial spirit. Entrants are assessed by a leading panel of independent judges on their innovation, integrity, influence, strategic direction and national/global impact. Their relationships with their local communities are also taken into account.

Entrepreneur Of The Year is one of the leading business awards program in Australia and the only program of its kind with an international platform. Founded and produced by Ernst & Young, and launched in Australia in 2001, it celebrates entrepreneurs who build and lead successful businesses. The international recognition of the awards positions finalists and winners as world-class entrepreneurs and provides a benchmark for entrepreneurial excellence.

The EOY program is conducted across five regions with these winners progressing to the national awards ceremony in November. Independent judging panels drawn from a broad range of successful Australian businesses assess the entrepreneurs on their innovation, integrity, influence, strategic direction, and national or global impact.

The Australian Entrepreneur Of The Year is invited to represent Australia at the Ernst & Young World Entrepreneur Of The Year held annually in June in Monte Carlo. Former Australian winners have included Peter Farrell of ResMed Limited (2001), John Rothwell AO of Austal Limited (2002), David Bussau AM of Opportunity International (2003); Robert Gerard AO of Gerard Corporation (2004) and Tony D’Antonio and Peter Hosking of Global Machinery Company Worldwide (2005), Mike Cannon-Brookes & Scott Farquhar of Atlassian (2006).

The program was first established in the US in 1986. Entrepreneur Of The Year winners outside of Australia have included Scott McNealy, Sun Microsystems (1987), Michael Dell, Dell Computer (1989); Howard Schultz, Starbucks (1991); Jeff Bezos, (1997); Eddie Jordan, Jordan Grand Prix (2000); and Narayana Murthy, Infosys Technologies (2003).

In Australia the Entrepreneur Of The Year program is sponsored by Westpac Business Bank, Qantas and supported by Austrade and AusIndustry.

The 2007 Regional Entrepreneur Of The Year Finalists

  • Southern Region
  • Peter Bender, Huon Aquaculture Group
  • Richard Buxton, Buxton Group
  • Peter Ciliberto, C-Direct
  • Carolyn Creswell, Carman’s Fine Foods
  • Jonathan Dempsey, Bed Bath N’Table
  • Belinda Fraser & Melanie Gleeson, endota spa
  • Val Harding, International Interior Images
  • Darren Hotchkin, Saferoads
  • Tom Jonhammar, ComGroup Australia
  • Tim Lincoln, Lincoln
  • Franz Madlener, Villa & Hut Group
  • Peter Mavridis, S Central
  • Grant Petty, Blackmagic Design
  • Rosmin Robertson, Kingfisher International
  • Marcus Sellen, Vitreous
  • Mathew Wegener, CommsForce

Southern Region award ceremony, Melbourne – August 30, 2007

National award ceremony, Melbourne – November 29, 2007

Click here to download PDF